Picky Bars

Past Races

11/26/2020 Thornwilde 5k Turkey Trot
05/05/2019 Flying Pig Marathon
05/04/2019 Flying Pig
05/04/2019 Flying Pig
05/03/2019 50 West Mile

Brett Nolan

Hebron, Kentucky

Primary Discipline(s) Mountain Biking, Road Running, Trail Running, Hiking, Other, Martial Arts
Bucket List RaceBoston Marathon, Dopey Challenge, any triathlon (Ironman)
Favorite Picky Bars productAh, Fudge Nuts!, All the Oatmeals
Off-Day ActivityBoating with the family

I am a middle aged (turning 40 in 2021), married, father of 2 who lives an active lifestyle and always looking for ways to stay energized. I have been using Picky Bars for the past year and absolutely love them. I was diagnosed in March of 2020 with Celiac Disease (yes after 38 years of not knowing). I am an avid runner who loves listening to podcasts and when I heard about Steph’s story, I knew I had to check out Picky Bars. It is very hard to find food on the go that I CAN eat. I am an age-group runner who competes in events from 1 mile races up to marathons and sometimes several races in the same weekend. I am always on the go and need to stay energized and these bars are perfect. I am a Registered Nurse by trade and have to work multiple days a week in upwards of 12 hour days taking care of pediatric patients and their families and fellow nurses. I think we can all agree that staying nourished is in everyone's best interest. My family and I are also water sport fanatics and spend days out on the water, whether boating, jet skiing, swimming or tubing. Oh yeah, did I mention I have 2 younger kids at home and juggle all this while taking care of and providing for them and their school and extracurricular activities (my daughter is finally old enough to join Cross Country – YES!).

I volunteer for several different non-profits. I just joined a local running group. I am part of a national nursing organization. Lastly, I just try to be a good human being.

Through my pediatric nursing background and volunteer work, I care deeply for all people. I do not judge people based on their differences, nationality, sexual preference, etc. I am here to take care of people. I believe in giving to others and I utilize my hobbies as a way to take care of myself and my family. My daughter and wife have taken up running because of me and my success. I have also been asked to start coaching new runners as well. I am 39 years old and still PRing. I wasn't a collegiate athlete and took many years off for taking care of kids and my career. I used to weigh 50 lbs heavier and never want to get out of shape again. Picky Bars have been a great addition to my healthy, mostly, plant based lifestyle. Thank you for the opportunity to apply!! Keep up the good work!